Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Decolonization and Democratization of Global Health Workshop

May 17, 2021 @ 10:00 am - 11:30 am

TIME: 7 AM PDT/9 AM CDT/10 AM EDT/2 PM GMT/4 PM SAT/5 PM EAT/7:30 PM IST 

Not sure what time this is in your timezone? Convert the time to find out!

DURATION: 90-MINUTES 

LOCATION: Via Zoom (link sent upon registration confirmation)

REGISTRATION DEADLINE: MAY 10

WORKSHOP REGISTRATION

Event Description:

Although the call for decolonizing global health has been debated for over a decade, events over the past year have brought these issues to the fore once again. These include the COVID-19 pandemic, which has highlighted disparities in mortality, infection risk and vaccination availability related to race, ethnicity and country. The current social movement inspired by Black Lives Matter has also given rise to renewed efforts and raised visibility, both in the US and globally. 

We recognize the need to re-examine our practices in global health research training. How do we ensure that we follow ethical principles and do not perpetuate practices that extend neo-colonialization? More specifically, how can the six Fogarty Global Health Fellows & Scholars programs collaborate to advance an agenda that advances the ideas of decolonization and democratization of global health through training the next generation of global health leaders from low- and middle-income countries and the U.S? We value the input of every person and trainee, and your unique perspectives. The workshop will include the following components: 

  1. Plenary talk by Prof. Shailey Prasad 
  2. Small group discussion facilitated by the FGHFS Decolonizing Global Health Task Force members 

 

Details

Date:
May 17, 2021
Time:
10:00 am - 11:30 am
Event Category:

Venue

Virtual via Zoom
130 Mason Farm Road
Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599